There are two core membership categories and four key levels of membership within AICE.  


  1. General Category, and
  2. Clinical Practice Group (CPG) Category


  1. Fellow
  2. Titled Member 
  3. Member
  4. Student (only open for ACA Students)

 Each of these categories and levels are explained below in greater detail.



General Category

This category of membership is for chiropractors who have obtained a higher research degree from a University and have published research. This category is intended for academically oriented chiropractors within the profession - no clinical focus required.

Clinical Practice Group Category

AICE recognises a number of areas of special interest, where members with, or looking to gain, additional skills and experience in specific interest areas are able to join.

These Clinical Practice Groups (CPG) have the following roles:

  • To recognise experience and qualifications relevant to each special interest subject area.
  • To foster open inquiry and debate among practitioners and the wider healthcare community.
  • To encourage further, relevant continuing professional development.
  • To define and uphold the competencies of CPG members as they pertain to each special interest subject area.
  • To review, disseminate and develop the evidence-base in each special interest area.
  • To support CPG members in developing and extending skills and knowledge in relevant special interest areas.


Entry requirements

General Category Entry requirements - Grandparenting phase (2019-2024)


Levels General Category Entry requirements 


  • PhD 


  • Minimum 5 peer-reviewed publications
Titled Member


  • MSc or MPhil


  • Minimum 2 peer-reviewed publications


  • Research degree




Higher standards will apply for all membership levels starting from 2024 i.e. to progress from a Member to a Fellow, a chiropractor will need to undertake a two-year university training program (equivalent to a master’s degree), that consists of a facilitated program of professional development, including regular study, formal case presentations, audit reports and trial examinations.  At the end of the training program you will need to pass the final practical and oral examinations after the grandparenting period ends.